Pages

Friday, February 20, 2009

#182: What About Brian?

It's been almost three years since I began routinely posting stuff online. I started on MySpace, posting a blog every week or so and now I own my own website which isn't that much of an accomplishment but it shows I'm serious about keeping this blog around for a very long time.

It's interesting to see the things that have changed in my life since I became a regular user of the Internet. Back in August 2006 when I posted my first MySpace blog, I was single and working at a job I didn't really like but tolerated because I enjoyed the few people I worked with and the hours. Within a month, things would change for what I originally thought would be the better but instead became kind of like a bad high school drama. After about nine months or so, things slowed down, everything sorted itself out and after a few months of being single I met someone else and it's all been as perfect as can be.

A sad realization of the year has been that I don't think I will be the writer I really want to be. I had these grand schemes to be an author. An author not in the vein of James Patterson or Stephen King where they can sell millions of copies just by stamping their name on something but a respected author who sells a respectable amount of books and can live comfortably. I'm currently writing what I want to be my second novel and as I'm typing it from a notebook, I am realizing that it is not very good. Not very good at all. I'm hoping I am just being critical or that when I do the massive edit when I'm done I can get rid of the stuff that, you know, sucks.

I've always wanted to be a writer but aside from the writings I do online, I don't think I'm going to be a pseudo-successful author. I guess many people would tell you that the Internet is the next wave of book publication but there's something about actually holding the book/newspaper/magazine in your hand that just feels right. I'm pretty sure I'm not alone.

Until next time, I remain...
~Brian

No comments: